Can We Do It?

Here you'll find a wide range of discussions on old-house topics.

Moderators: oldhouse, TinaB, Don M, Schag

Can We Do It?

Postby BenjiGirl on Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:37 pm

Hi, all. This is my first time here...so glad to have found the site because as of last night we are considering buying a house built in 1860 that needs a whole LOT of work: new garage, attic conversion for our girls, rooms gutted, new kitchen and bathrooms, wood floors refinished, windows, lots and lots and lots of paint indoors and out, new landscaping, and more. I'm sweating just thinking about it.

We're just learning about renovation mortgages, consulting a contractor (major sticker shock), and hope to schedule a "feasibility inspection", which is required for the renovation mortgage. I'm sure you know all about it...

I am petrified!

My husband can do a lot of this stuff, but so much needs to be done, it's very overwhelming. We both work full-time and have three kids. The whole thing is dependent upon the seller taking a much-reduced offer on the place. The house has only been listed for a few weeks but he has already dropped the price $20,000. Still not nearly enough. If we don't get this house, it will surely be another old place because that is what we love.

I've read the suggestions in articles - adding 15-20% to the budget, trying to live elsewhere while you do the messy stuff, only buy good structure, expect delays, etc.

Any other good ones? I'm the pessimist - always wanting the worst case scenario - and my husband is the optimist. I'm hoping we can meet somewhere in the middle and have a lovely home without needing to live on pancakes.

Thanks!
Lisa
BenjiGirl

Postby barrett on Wed Sep 27, 2006 7:09 pm