1880s Farmhouse Interior Ideas

Questions and answers relating to houses built in the 1800s and before.

Moderators: TinaB, Don M, Schag, oldhouse

1880s Farmhouse Interior Ideas

Postby knochd » Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:13 am

I am in the process of restoring a late 19th-century T-style farmhouse in rural Kentucky that was extensively renovated in 1962. I'd like to return the interior to something closely resembling its original appearance, but I'm no expert when it comes to period interior design. Does anyone know of some resources that can help me get an idea of how the interiors of rural farm homes in this period may have looked? Thanks a bunch for any guidance.

Dave
knochd

Re: 1880s Farmhouse Interior Ideas

Postby Nettie » Tue Aug 31, 2010 12:57 pm

Well a couple ideas are historical societies. Our state's Minnesota Historical society has an online database of photos and you can search 1800's farmhouse for pictures and pull up a few. Other states might have even better ones.
PBS had a special a couple of years back called Death of the Dream which featured dying farmhouses. You can check out this link- I think there is a virtual farmhouse you can visit. http://www.pbs.org/ktca/farmhouses/
There are a few of us on this site that have farmhouses from the 1800s so you can search this site as well for pictures.
I commend you for wanting to restore your house- most farmhouses are pretty bare bones for conveniences, it's fun to come on here and listen to stories about butler's pantries and bells for the maids. Our reality was more likely a root cellar and big dinner bell for the neighborhood men that came to help :P with the threshing.
Nettie

Postby knochd » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:04 am