Refinishing porch beadboard ceiling, any thoughs?

Questions, answers and advice for people who own or work on houses built during the 20th century.

Moderators: oldhouse, TinaB, Don M, Schag

Refinishing porch beadboard ceiling, any thoughs?

Postby Hoosier Foursquare on Tue May 01, 2012 12:43 pm

As the weather is warm now in my area, my focus is shifting from inside the house to outside. Our porch covers the front of the house and one-quarter of the right side and has a beadboard ceiling. I figured it would be a scrape, sand, caulk & paint affair but was just curious what you guys though or if you have any suggestions.

I've got a lot of experience in paint prep and restoration but have never done a beadboard ceiling before. Thanks! :)
Attachments
IMG_3612.JPG
IMG_3612.JPG (669.85 KiB) Viewed 7669 times
IMG_3603.JPG
IMG_3603.JPG (938.05 KiB) Viewed 7669 times
IMG_3593.JPG
IMG_3593.JPG (866.38 KiB) Viewed 7666 times
Hoosier Foursquare

Re: Refinishing porch beadboard ceiling, any thoughs?

Postby 1880 Stick Victorian on Wed May 02, 2012 12:16 pm

have you actually gotten a ladder and checked it out? is the paint flakey, is it just dried out? what condition is the wood in?

i have been stripping interior beadboard (usually in the winter) that is a tad bit wider on the "board" part and i am using a heat plate for many reasons... it is very time consuming... but if you don't need to take it down to bare wood it shouldn't be too big of a deal...
Theo. & Alice Fries House
Lyons, New York - 1880
1880 Stick Victorian

Postby Josiecat on Wed May 02, 2012 5:50 pm

No advice, but I wanted to say very neat house. I LOVE the urns.
The Wellcome House
1892 Queen Anne Victorian
Topeka, Kansas
Josiecat

Postby triguy128 on Thu May 03, 2012 1:10 pm

BTW - that looks more like toneu & Grooze boards than beadboard. I thought beadboard was like a partical board material.