Removing Lead Paint...How Dangerous?

Questions, answers and advice for people who own or work on houses built during the 20th century.

Moderators: oldhouse, TinaB, Don M, Schag

Removing Lead Paint...How Dangerous?

Postby wessieball » Wed Mar 10, 2004 3:51 pm

Ok. I'm confused over this topic. One person tells me one thing, another tells me something else.

I've got 3 doors, 4 windows and two rooms worth of baseboard to remove oil/lead paint from. If I use a stripper (citri-strip, removall, etc.) is there still risk of lead poisoning?

From what I've read, you'd have to breathe in the lead dust or consume chips for the lead to get into your bloodstream, right? I can't imagine how a stripper could release the lead into the air.

Any thoughts?
wessieball

Postby TimT » Thu Mar 11, 2004 10:38 am

FWIW, I am a certified lead inspector and old house owner. Lets see if I can quickly clarify some lead hazard issues.

First, dry scraping and heat guns are the worst. They both expose you to the worst form of lead (ingestion and inhalation).

The safer way to strip is using liquid stripers. They keep the dust from getting airborne and present a lesser hazard.

There is always a risk of lead exposure if lead paint is present. Try and work outside as much as possible (remove doors, etc.). The first rule in lead training classes is that we want to be 'lead safe' because it is very hard to be 'lead free'.

I can give you plenty of suggestions on proper handling if you would like but I would need some more details on what you are using/striping and your household status (kids, pets, etc.).

Good Luck,

Tim

Our House
http://www.mosmanhouse.homestead.com
TimT

Postby wessieball » Thu Mar 11, 2004 12:01 pm